House of canons of Santa Maria de Vilabertran / Highlights / Concert, August 24. 21.30 h. Schubertíada 2017. S. CONNOLLY - M. MARTINEAU

Concert, August 24. 21.30 h. Schubertíada 2017. S. CONNOLLY - M. MARTINEAU
Start: 08/24/2017  - 
sarah connolly web


Thursday, August, 24
Time: 21.30 h.

SARAH CONNOLLY, mezzosoprano

Lieder by Strauss, Zemlinsky, Eisler, Korngold, Copland and Britten

Malcom Martineau web



Lieder by Richard Strauss
Heimliche Aufforderung, op. 27/3
Sehnsucht, op. 32/2
Die Nacht, op. 10/2
Liebeshymnus, op. 32/3 

Sechs Cesänge nach Gedichten von Maurice Maeterlinck, op. 13, by Alexander Zemlinsky

Fünf Hollywood-Elegien, by Hanns Eisler

Lieder by Erich Korngold
Sterbelied, op. 14/1
Unvergänglichkeit, op. 27/1
Cefasster Abschied, op. 14/4

Twelve poems of Emily Dickinson (selection), by Aaron Copland

A Charm of Lullabies, op. 41 by Benjamin Britten



Saturday, August 27
Time: 18.30 h.


Works by Mozart and Schubert

There is no rule confirming that if we combine great individualities, we will obtain a great team. However, in the case of Dalia Quartet there has been a miracle. Four of the best string payers have created a quartet that is already a high level reality. In order to face the timeless beauty of Schubert's quintet, the cellist Helena Poggio has joined the group. She is a luxury support from in the renowned Cuarteto Quiroga.


String Quartet No. 1 in G major, K. 80, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

String Quintet in C major for two cellos op. post. 163, D956, by Franz Schubert

Formed by four musicians with a consolidated orchestral career (they have been part of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Lucerne Festival Orchestra, Orquestra Da Camera Dortmunder Philharmoniker or Orquestar de la Comunitat Valenciana). The quartet is born because there was a need to create a parallel space in order to deepen in the chamber repertoire and to explore esthetic languages that only an intimate string quartet with a high complicity could make it possible. The Dalia Quartet made its debut in the Schubertiada of Vilabertran in 2015, taking part of the ensemble that played Das Lied von der Erde by G. Mahler, conducted by Josep Pons.


She was born in Madrid in 1978. She started her cello studies at the age of eight in the Madrid Conservatory and she finishes them with the National Award for Excellence in Academic Performance in 1999. She studies five years in the Queen Sofia College of Music (where she was awarded two years in a row as the most outstanding student) under the supervision of Frans Helmerson. In Bllomington, Indiana University, she gets the Artistic Diploma, studying with T. Tsutsumi. She carries on with her studies in the Juilliard School, with J. Krosnick, where she gets the Master of Music. She has received master classes from D. Geringas, L. Claret, B. Greenhouse, J. Starker, P. Müeller and B. Pergamenschikov. Among otheres, she has received the first prize of the Permanent Chamber Competition of Joventuts Musicals. Nowadays she is the cellist in the Cuarteto Quiroga, performing regularly in the most important concerts halls of Europe and she has the Chamber Music / String Quartet professorship in the Aragon Conservatory.

Copyright Departament de Cultura. Agència Catalana del Patrimoni Cultural |